STOKING THE FIRES OF CHEMISTRY

heart-fire

A tidal wave of anger rips through me

I am tossed like a kite in a hurricane

A freight train rumbles down the line -a deafening roar

Along jangled nerves that spark from a frayed wire

It was a nightmare, it was real, and it happened

 

Self-righteous thoughts rooted in false perception

Rising thunderheads trail the ridge thru the night

Dark Stormy clouds perceived by a closed mind

A rush of sultry emotions surge through my veins

Another potent and salacious cocktail of chemicals

Just passing by, looking for a place to ignite

 

As a single tear silently slips from my eye,

And rolls down my cheek, a soul survivor

A tired remnant of a temper tantrumed

Born of innocence, childlike, and impetuous

Humanness and being-ness acknowledged

Leaving room for the inevitable giggle to rise

Teasing and playing at the corners of my mouth

 

I wrap compassion around me like a blanket

From my bed, I reach for my faithful pen

Like organizing pieces of the infinite puzzle

I methodically rearrange words on a page

I search for meaning and the essence of me

Desperately hoping to find something somewhere

 

Just for a moment I pause in the silence

As the whisper of angel wings brush my face

A gentle reminder of why I came

A long sigh traces my breath to Spirit

Where the fires of Alchemy burn

And the ever faithful heart awaits

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “STOKING THE FIRES OF CHEMISTRY”

Leave a Reply

