Life is a Roller Coaster

Brandon Chad & I in Italy 2002

In Italy with my boys, 2002

My name is Jan and this is me with my two beautiful sons, Chad and Brandon. Chad died in 2004 when he was 19. Even though life with Chad had always been somewhat of a roller coaster because of his Attention Deficit, with perseverance; we usually chugged our way back to the top. We were at that pinnacle in the spring of 2004 before we took that final plunge that would steal the life of our son; essentially taking mine with him.  This is a poem that I wrote today about the roller coaster of life.

Chasing Life

I’m riding high;
A kite in a hurricane;
Illusions of safety;
Guarded lies of maybe;
I’m Chasing Life;
As life once chased me.

We came together
A spark of humanity;
Where past and present collide;
A dance of impact;
On a slippery slope;
Just for the thrill of the ride.

Jump on; Jump on the roller coaster of Life;
Take an ice cream along for the ride;
Feel it, really feel it;
Brace yourself, clinging for life;
Or raise that bar and reach for the sky.

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

2 thoughts on “Life is a Roller Coaster”

  1. My heart lives in the same space, with the passing of my 17-year-old son . You expressed the ride so beautifully — thanks for the healing words.
    (maybe you’d like to check out my blog and my website)

    1. Phyllis, thanks so much for your response. I know there are many boats like mine in the water, but it’s nice when someone takes a moment to say, “Hey, I hear you!” It makes reaching “out” worthwhile and you don’t feel so alone in the journey. I’m sorry that you also lost a son. Whew, talk about taking the wind out of your sails and the sails right off your boat!
      I’m very new to blogging and don’t have a clue how to get around or what I’m doing or why but, by God, I’m doing it anyway!! haha. PS. I really enjoyed your blog. I haven’t had time to go searching for other blogs yet so thanks for helping me find you.

Comments are closed.